Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register ) · IRC Chat


 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Transparency Problems [fixed]
alucinor
post Jul 6 2010, 08:51 PM
Post #1


FEPer
Group Icon

Group: Newbies
Posts: 3
FEPoints: 60
Joined: 6-July 10
From: Virginia
Member No.: 12,842



(IMG:http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/4906/mug1.png) (IMG:http://feto.feplanet.net/files/upload/mug/81549.png)
These are the same images pretty much. The first one is transparent, uploaded to ImageShack. The second is what happens when my mugshot is uploaded to my FETO account. For some reason, the transparency doesn't want to stick. I'm tried using different uploading services, clearing my cache, refreshing, refreshing by skipping cache (CTRL+F5), closing my browser, etc. The transparency just doesn't want to work.

The image is a png. My browser is the most recent version of FireFox... forgot version number. The image clearly is transparent on the forum and other areas, it just has problems after being on FETO. The image is being made as a PNG in MS Paint, then it is resaved by IrfanView by making R255 G128 B64 transparent. The image is transparent on my computer, this forum post, when I upload it to ImageShack, the image preview for this post, etc. etc. Do I need to save this as a gif and upload it, or what? It just doesn't want to work for me. @@

tl;dr Image won't fix.

EDIT:

This problem was fixed, so the post has no meaning anymore.
Go to the top of the page
Current Mood: No data.
+Quote Post

Konata Izumi
post Jul 6 2010, 09:07 PM
Post #2

Otaku Extraordinaire
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 862
FEPoints: 1,315
Joined: 11-September 08
Member No.: 6,438



QUOTE(alucinor @ Jul 6 2010, 08:51 PM) *
(IMG:http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/4906/mug1.png) (IMG:http://feto.feplanet.net/files/upload/mug/81549.png)
These are the same images pretty much. The first one is transparent, uploaded to ImageShack. The second is what happens when my mugshot is uploaded to my FETO account. For some reason, the transparency doesn't want to stick. I'm tried using different uploading services, clearing my cache, refreshing, refreshing by skipping cache (CTRL+F5), closing my browser, etc. The transparency just doesn't want to work.

The image is a png. My browser is the most recent version of FireFox... forgot version number. The image clearly is transparent on the forum and other areas, it just has problems after being on FETO. The image is being made as a PNG in MS Paint, then it is resaved by IrfanView by making R255 G128 B64 transparent. The image is transparent on my computer, this forum post, when I upload it to ImageShack, the image preview for this post, etc. etc. Do I need to save this as a gif and upload it, or what? It just doesn't want to work for me. @@

tl;dr Image won't fix.


Well I'm no sprite expert.... but when I wanna get somethin transperencied I use http://iaza.com

I know it should be like the one in the left already... but what the hell, might as well try again, no? =P

EDIT: Follow Tygr's advice.
Go to the top of the page
Current Mood: Tired x_x
+Quote Post

SereneFlight
post Jul 6 2010, 09:09 PM
Post #3

Mr. good-for-nothing
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 3,303
FEPoints: 100,076,585
Joined: 11-June 09
From: Finland
Member No.: 9,404



First I thought that it might be just that imageshack (seriously, it's not so good :/) but then I uploaded that to my photobucket account and tried it again but it still giving a background.
I made it transparent again but still BG is still there... I don't really know but I would advise not to use that program to do them transparent, rather use FEP's Transparency Script (but before that, do something for that ''transparent'' mug).

Oh... Konata ninja'd :/
Go to the top of the page
Current Mood: If you see this, F*CKING SCROLL UP OR DOWN, NOW!!!
+Quote Post

Nohrian Lord S-IX
post Jul 6 2010, 09:12 PM
Post #4

YOU CAN'T BEAT THE SPEED!
Group Icon

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,232
FEPoints: 1,000,000,014
Joined: 6-January 10
From: That place with that name
Member No.: 10,918



You can also use GIMP (free) or Photoshop to make your sprites transparent manually (not nearly as hard as it sounds) .
Go to the top of the page
Current Mood: DO THE DO THE CATWALK, DO THE DO THE CATWALK!!!!!
+Quote Post

alucinor
post Jul 6 2010, 09:14 PM
Post #5


FEPer
Group Icon

Group: Newbies
Posts: 3
FEPoints: 60
Joined: 6-July 10
From: Virginia
Member No.: 12,842



(IMG:http://i45.tinypic.com/t8tdoy.gif) (IMG:http://feto.feplanet.net/files/upload/mug/81549.png)
Huh. Left is the one after messing around with Iaza and the second one is the uploaded one from the FETO server. And what do you know... it worked. I guess FETO is more .gif friendly than it is .png friendly for transparency? Thanks Konata. (IMG:style_emoticons/blue/cat.gif)
Go to the top of the page
Current Mood: No data.
+Quote Post

SereneFlight
post Jul 6 2010, 09:21 PM
Post #6

Mr. good-for-nothing
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 3,303
FEPoints: 100,076,585
Joined: 11-June 09
From: Finland
Member No.: 9,404



QUOTE(Speedy07 @ Jul 7 2010, 05:12 AM) *
You can also use GIMP (free) or Photoshop to make your sprites transparent manually (not nearly as hard as it sounds) .

Yes, indeed. And nowadays anybody's computer should be able to run at least GIMP (not saying about laptop since I have heard a lot that people have crappier one than me).
Go to the top of the page
Current Mood: If you see this, F*CKING SCROLL UP OR DOWN, NOW!!!
+Quote Post

alucinor
post Jul 6 2010, 09:24 PM
Post #7


FEPer
Group Icon

Group: Newbies
Posts: 3
FEPoints: 60
Joined: 6-July 10
From: Virginia
Member No.: 12,842



I'm running a laptop, but that has nothing to do with transparencyness. I ran it through IrfanView to make it transparent, which works fine for everything else. Seems .gif is the magic thing here, but it could just be IrfanView not liking FETO. xD
Go to the top of the page
Current Mood: No data.
+Quote Post

SereneFlight
post Jul 7 2010, 03:12 PM
Post #8

Mr. good-for-nothing
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 3,303
FEPoints: 100,076,585
Joined: 11-June 09
From: Finland
Member No.: 9,404



QUOTE
I'm running a laptop, but that has nothing to do with transparencyness.

Yes, it doesn't. But I said that even not-so-good laptops are able to run Gimp/ Photoshop, so there's no need to any tools or other programs (+Layers (helps pretty much when doing bigger customizing/ splicing sessions (like if example only the hair contains ~20 parts)) and (at least Photoshop) offers usable Swatches (like default colors in MSPaint (Paint's default colors are shitty).

QUOTE
but it could just be IrfanView not liking FETO

Or .png, at least my every sprites are .png and there haven't been any problems with them.
Go to the top of the page
Current Mood: If you see this, F*CKING SCROLL UP OR DOWN, NOW!!!
+Quote Post

Pointman
post Dec 17 2012, 12:31 AM
Post #9


FEPer
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 14
FEPoints: 225
Joined: 25-November 12
From: PEI, Canada
Member No.: 83,410



Thanks for posting about iaza, nothing else was working for me.
Just a recolor to better match the mugshot, but whatever:
(IMG:http://i.imgur.com/rUcRf.gif)

http://feto.feplanet.net/character/view/99854
Go to the top of the page
Current Mood: No data.
+Quote Post


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2018 - 11:08 AM

Affiliates